New Rochelle

New Rochelle
This spa is revered for its shape-defining body treatments, hair removal/electrolysis and rejuvenating facials. Owner Eileen Smyth recommended the 90-minute Emspa Trio Facial, a layering of technologies and treatments guaranteed to give any face a lift. Smyth, a licensed esthetician, began by treating my arms and hands to moisturizing paraffin and warming gloves. As I floated away, my face was analyzed, cleansed and exfoliated in preparation for the treatment, which she’d customized with specific serums and masks for my skin type. First she used a Microcurrent instrument to tone and stimulate facial muscles, then she applied Intraceuticals’ Infusion Oxygen treatment to promote elasticity, and she finished with a collagen-stimulating LED light treatment and protective sunscreen (each of the three can be done as an individual treatment). Smyth would not allow me to leave without having my eyebrows perfectly groomed by brow artist Maggie. I left the Ellen Marie Spa with a gift bag full of Dermalogica and Guinot samples and both my spirit and face lifted. 

Brooke Bizzell Stachyra       The Ultimate Westchester Spa Guide 2012

 

Mamaroneck

Don’t you want a good relationship with the person ripping hairs out of your body? The aestheticians at Ellen Marie manage to be warm, efficient, and empathetic, making a painful ordeal feel more like a few minutes with a friend. And after your eyebrows—or other parts—are perfectly groomed, elegant Ellen Marie might throw in a complimentary makeup application.

The Best of Westchester 2010: Waxing

 

Five Stars

The staff was very friendly.  I made an appointment and was seen at my appointment time.The lady who did my waxing is Victoria and she was phenomenal. Best waxing experience ever. Quick with very little pain. The prices are very fair as well!

Dee       Nov 29th, 2011      site: Google

 

Five Stars

I chose Ellen Marie Day Spa after my spa in Bronxville closed due to a fire.  I was completely surprised to see Eliani working there.  She did my Brazilian waxes at Village Day Spa and I lost track of her after they closed.  She is WONDERFUL.  She is very professional and gives a very good Brazilian wax.  I’m so glad that I re-found her.

Eleni A.    August 8th, 2011    site: Yelp

 

Five Stars

I am a man, and my wife constantly complains about my back and chest hair. In order to satisfy her I decided to go to this spa, and to my surprise everyone is very professional and knows how to do their job. Victoria gives the best waxing, and it’s not as painful as I imagined before my first treatment.

Steve    July 25th, 2011    site: Google

 

Five Stars

I have to agree with all the good ratings. I have waxed for 10 years and this is one of the best waxing I have had (Brazilian/ full leg). My skin is very sensitive and am normally irritated the following day by the process but NOT THIS TIME!!! VICTORIA is wonderful! She makes you comfortable and does a great job as well. I will most definitely be going back to her for all my waxing needs, and would recommend her to anyone!

Gretchen    July 13th, 2011    site: Google

 

Five Stars

I received a gift card for Ellen Marie for the birthday. It was my first time visiting this spa, as I recently just moved to Larchmont area from Manhattan. I have to say that hands down, I received the best facial ever from the sweetest lady, Mariama. It was so thorough, relaxing and fantastic.. While the mask was on, instead of leaving the room for 10 minutes while it was on…she massaged my arms and feets. My skin was glowing when I left. While checking out, I also noticed that they received best waxing award for Westchester Magazine…so I made an appointment for waxing and another facial for January.

Ashley D.    12/27/2007     site: Yelp

 

Five Stars

I would recommend this place without any hesitations.  I have been going here for years and they are just wonderful.  I have tried facials in other places and I am always left disappointed.  I will not bother going any place else anymore.

Ellen G.    12/18/2010    site: Yelp

 

Five Stars

Best Waxing! I recently moved to the area and was very nervous about finding a place I loved to get bikini & occasional brazilian waxes. I am so lucky I found Ellen Marie Day Spa! Victoria gives the best waxes I’ve EVER had, and I get regular waxes. I recommend it to all my friends.

    Aug 21st, 2010    site: Google

 

Five Stars

Full Disclosure: This is not my first facial, im 26 have no wrinkles or acne. I go because i get splotchy, i get ingrown hairs and razor burn. And Im a guy.

I get ingrown hairs from shaving hastily and recently tried some topical treatments like Anthony and tendskin. But i got these awful dark circles where the bumps used to be.

Also if you’re not from the Larchmont/Mamaroneck area it can be a little cold and snobby.  There are plenty of stuck up businesses around here that I either dread patronizing or avoid altogether because of this attitude the villagers can sometimes show toward people outside the desired class/race/residency.

Other spas I’ve been to, mainly in downtown NYC are ridiculously expensive for nothing. I love to splurge on luxuries but I want to get what I pay for.   Attitude is always the deal breaker.  I’ve heard not to expect much from both Nickel and Bliss SoHo so I said, why not give Westchester  a try? the fact that i work around the corner helped too…btw

I like that this day spa is not dark with trendy lighting and employees with attitudes.
Every expectation was exceeded. I was completely blown away by the the quiet professional hospitality of the whole experience. As a person who works in hospitality, Its nice to see it come my way once in a while. I left feeling like i was walking on air. They go the extra mile on it all. What else can I say…..The footrub kinda tickled.

It was just the recharge I needed.  I got thought what the hell let me try an entry level service here for a trial and will definitely go there again.

They are also light on the quack or trendy services the spas in Chelsea or the Vill will offer. I saw no signs offering ‘ear candling’.

Great Time great value worth every penny. And they sell Dermalogica products in house. Its awesome that I now know of a place that has that stuff; I had to order off the internet before.

Kenneth C.    5/4/2009    site: Yelp

 

Five Stars

Awesome The treatment is really good. i went there many times to have my eyebrows done, and i have to say they are the best spa-team i have ever met. they know what is good and what looks good and they are very professional. i also had brazilian waxing here and i felt very comfortable. Ellen marie day spa is the best!

Anna    November 8th, 2009    site: Google

 

Five Stars

Just had a brazilian wax here because my friends come here for their’s – I wanted to see what all the fuss was about – And I’m certainly happy I did – A brazilian isn’t a brazilian until you’ve had it done PROPER – It is amazing!! A different world from what I’m used to with waxing- moe expensive than the nail salons- but a trillion times worth it – wax is high quality stuff I’ve never seen before – like pink and creamy – from Australia and Russia and stuff – but made a huge difference 1) it hurt less and 2) I am smoooooth! 3) place has excellent waxers : )

Orfor    9/24/07    site: Citysearch

 

Five Stars

I just recently moved to Westchester from the city, and had been going back into the city for my monthly facial, as I was unable to find a place near me I liked. Until my friend gave me a gift certificate for my birthday to the Ellen Marie Day Spa – it was probably the best facial i have ever got – and I’ve been to ALOT of hotels & spas all over the country when I travel for work. I had the Guinot Hydradermie- and my skin was so glowy afterwards. It’s fairly small, but the size works, and it’s a really nice, classy spot, and the staff is extremely knowledgeable and professional, while still being really friendly- i love it.
Pros: top of the line products used

J. Ragafy    9/18/07    site: Citysearch